RPI to CPI Early Day Motion 1032

Options

Comments

• hugheskevi
    hugheskevi Posts: 3,884 Forumite
    First Anniversary Name Dropper First Post Car Insurance Carver!
    Options
    I'm not a lawyer either (though I hope I've been doing a reasonable impression in these posts!) but I foresee difficulty with the part of

No one shall be deprived of his possessions except in the public interest...

There is no public interest to concern us here (the Government have not cited that as a reason for the change).

But, it would have to be shown that the Government have deprived you of a possession. In this case, the possession is a pension linked to RPI.

The counter-argument would be that you have never had possession of a pension linked to RPI (you may have assumed you had, but scheme rules say otherwise) and hence therefore the Government cannot deprive you of it and so the act is not relevant.

If it was accepted that you had a possession which was a pension linked to RPI, then there would be no need to resort to the Human Rights act, as the possession would have already been established and domestic courts would then enforce that property right.

Therefore I think any involvement of Human Rights legislation would have to be to establish whether or not you do in fact have possession of a pension linked to RPI. It is at that point I'd very much welcome any lawyer's input, as I have no idea whether this would be a valid use of Human Rights law.
  • JohnB47
    JohnB47 Posts: 2,546 Forumite
    First Anniversary Name Dropper First Post
    edited 29 November 2010 at 11:13PM
    Options
    Thanks for clarifying.

Edit: opps didn't realise we'd moved on to a new page. I meant thanks for clarifying, hugheskevi, in post No 60.
  • JohnB47
    JohnB47 Posts: 2,546 Forumite
    First Anniversary Name Dropper First Post
    Options