Orange Phone Bill??!?

Options
I had a contract phone with orange that was £35.00 per month plus £5 insurance. The screen cracked on my phone after one week but i was told that it couldnt be fixed under the insurance as it was only cosmetic. This wasnt the case as stuff would get into the crack and on the screen.

Also i was constantly going over my limit of minutes making my phone bill around £60 per month (i am a student i dont have that money!) i asked to change the contract "NO!", i asked to cancel insurance as no point being there "NO!" so i stopped using the phone completely after 6 months and i owed them £100.56. i agreed to send the phone back and pay the £100 i owed but they insisted on sending me bills.

Now i have had a letter from a debt agency saying i owe £290 which is the standard £35 per month upto the time when they passed the debt over (Not until the contract finishes!)

Where do i stand what can i do? Any ideas please ???

:confused:

Comments

• Numpty_2
    Numpty_2 Posts: 127 Forumite
    Options
    Right - just to check - how long was your contract with them, did you pay to the end of the contract, did you officially cancel the contract
  • Zippy2006
    Options
    If your contract has run its course you can cancel if not yaou will have to pay off your contract.

I had major problems with orange 5 years ago. I still have a £30 default (settled in the end) on my credit files. Will be there till next May.

My contract (12 months) was up. They passed me from pillar to post when I phoned to cancel. I even sent them written notice 3 times. They never cancelled my contract - they did cut the service on my phone.

I would never get a phone from them ever again. I ended paying £30 for 2 months line rental on a phone line wasnt even live. I had debt collectors harassing me. I recently asked them to remove the default as they were technically wrong. They refused.

Shower of ignorant arrogant sods in their customer services department.