Action Plan!

Options
Hi peeps - I'm a newb - I have posted here but this is my 1st Thread!

I would really like some advise from those of you that are/have dealt with this.

Up until about 2yrs ago I was a complete nightmare with money spending far more than I was earning & being stung unmercilessly with charges for the priviledge! Now in my defence, hubby & I's income had been poor or very poor (various periods of unemployment & temp jobs)

Then the bank threatened to close my account because I was running it so badly! In the end, after the lecture, the CSA on the phone arranged a plan to reduce my (unauthorised) overdraft gradually over the next 6 months but also took away my cheque book & combined guarantee/debit card & replaced this with a ATM card only. (Forced lightbulb moment! lol)
This spurred me on to make other changes in my spending life & now I am pretty much debt free -£496 to Provident to go! (Yes I know but really my credit rating is so poor I didnt have a choice)
Which brings me to my question-
I need to improve my credit rating now.:o
I think I still have paid CCJ's hanging over me:o & I defaulted to Capital One so I doubt they will touch me with a barge pole!:eek:
obviously I need to do a credit check - I've read that section - but whats best after that? (note: I have a prepay Mastercard so I'm also not sure if that counts as a credit card or not)
Cheers in advance! Pup
I THINK is a whole sentence, not a replacement for I Know

Supermarket Rebel No 19:T

Comments

• CLAPTON
    CLAPTON Posts: 41,865 Forumite
    Combo Breaker First Post
    Options
    why do you 'need ' to improve your credit rating?

it will naturally improve if you pay your debts on time.

CCJs and defaults will stay on your credit record for 6 years although there significance does decrease with time.

you could try for one of those awful cards like vanquis that charge huge APRs but make sure to pay off in full each month.