🗳️ ELECTION 2024: THE MSE LEADERS' DEBATE Got a burning question you want us to ask the party leaders ahead of the general election? Submit your suggestions via this form or post them on our dedicated Forum board where you can see and upvote other users' questions. Please note that the Forum's rules on avoiding general political discussion still apply across all boards.

Speed cameras en route to Derry and in Derry

Options
Hello

I have recently started studying in Magee in Derry and am travelling up and down from Belfast every day. I am just wondering if anyone knows anywhere there are fixed cameras. I would hate to get caught, as I am a careful driver, but I know it would be easy to go 1 or 2 miles over quite easily!

I am trying to make this drive is as stress-free as possible! ::(

I have seen the mobile sopeed cameras every day about 30 miles from Derry though!

Many thanks

Fiona

Ps.

Do you always get 'done'/fines if you're say 2 or 3 miles over the limit?

Comments

• booklover
    booklover Posts: 897 Forumite
    Name Dropper First Post First Anniversary
    Options
    sorry about my spelling! :embarasse

Fiona
  • NAR
    NAR Posts: 4,863 Forumite
    First Post First Anniversary Combo Breaker
    Options
    Fiona, AFAIK there on no fixed cameras on your route, but obviously there will be mobile ones, as you have seen. Normally they will allow a tolerance level of 10% ie 55mph in a 50 zone.
  • peterdoherty
    Options
    NO fixed cameras on the main belfast - derry road. If there are any mobile cameras in operation they are usually at the lay by on the top of the glenshane as you are about to descend on way to belfast or hidden at the side of the road between derry and dungiven
  • booklover
    Options
    :hello:

Thanks a lot NAR and peterdoherty for all your very helpful advice.

Fiona
  • declanmcc
    declanmcc Posts: 412 Forumite
    Options
    Fiona,