Should I go alone?

edited 30 November -1 at 1:00AM in Employment, Jobseeking & Training
2 replies 705 views
plymouth_janner_boyplymouth_janner_boy Forumite
149 Posts
Hi all, I haven't posted in ages as my computer has packed up!!:mad: I am now hijacking my parents comp...

Any hoooo, I am a Civil Engineer and have worked for my current employer (whom I joined straight from Uni) for 4 plus years. I am on 26k a year, have a brand new company car every 4 years (new one is on its way!) pension, fuel card sick pay and holiday pay etc...all the benefits you expect from your employer, with good promotion prospects and a training scheme to get me chartered. However.....

A close friend of mine has always offered me the chance of working with him doing the same thing as i do now.The difference is he is a limited company and earns a whole lot more lolly!

He is now offering me:

a rate which equates to 29k a year AFTER tax (which is an extra 1k take home a month)
5k to spend on a van
a fuelcard
4wks holiday
new equipment to allow me to work alone
10% stake in his company's profits.

The drawback is that the work isn't guaranteed, (although he hasn't been out of work in the past 5 years i've known him),but there are also several agencies with work. My current job does guarantee work

The argument is construction isn't going to dry up in the forseeable future and if it does, my current employer isn't going to have work either. another drawback is my training will stop. It isn't due to finish until 2008 and i have lost interest in it. The money going freelance is really good though, and I'm not in a position financially to turn it down.

Basically, does any one have any advice? or similar experiences you can share? sorry about the long post!

Replies

• NileNile Forumite, Board Guide
    14.9K Posts
    Part of the Furniture 10,000 Posts Name Dropper Photogenic
    ✭✭✭✭✭
    Hello plymouth janner boy

We can't make the decision for you.