NHS admin bank work, reliable??

Options
Apologies for any mistakes in this, i'm new at this, I normally just read, not post on here!:)
I'm after a bit of advice, here's my situation: I've been working at a local supermarket for 3 years, earlier this year I went through open learning to do ITQ level 2 computer course and passed, in the hope to get admin work, as did a little bit of this years ago. I was hoping to better my prospects & get a career for myself now my children are growing up.
After a couple of failed interviews for admin positions with the local hospital I was asked to join the bank for admin work. Since joing 2 months ago I have had one job, that has lasted the last 6 weeks, unfortunately this came to an end as it was advertised as a permanent post (it wasn't enough hours for me to be a permanent job). Straightaway I already have 3 days a week lined up to start on 22/09, supposedly an on-going thing. I am still applying for any permanent posts I can find, but still failing interviews based on not enough experience (hopefully bank work will give enough experience)
My dilemma is this: I really want to leave my supermarket job, as i've had enough and want to be at home weekends, but bank work is not permanent. Do I take the risk and leave and hope bank work stays on going? Hoping that someone will employ me on a permanent basis sooner or later? Or is it too risky in the current economic climate to give up a guaranteed job?
Any advice would be greatly appreciated, particularly if you have experience of NHS bank work.
Thank you, I hope this makes sense, and I havn't waffled on too much!!

Comments

• janb5
    janb5 Posts: 2,619 Forumite
    Name Dropper First Anniversary First Post I've been Money Tipped!
    Options
    Unfortunately bank work is unreliable. I would hang on for the moment but when you are at work check on the Trust`s website ( break period) to see if there are any jobs advertised.
  • Clowance
    Clowance Posts: 1,843 Forumite