Advice Needed - Getting a Loan via Experian

jezatron
jezatron Posts: 7 Forumite
Hi, I'm a bit of a newb on this site so I hope this is the right place for this query.

I'm trying to get a loan and have a high score on Experian (949) after working really hard to recover my status from a bit of a hole a few years ago.

I recently applied for a loan through Alliance & Leicester / Santander that was offered up on the loans section on Experian, tailored to my status. I have been rejected due to information supplied by Equifax. Having been someone who used to bury his head in the sand a bit with money, I had never even heard of Equifax until I got the letter, and assumed (in my ignorance) that working on my status with one credit data agency would create universally applied results. Checking Equifax just now, my report is very different on there to Experian (partly due to bogus entries on accounts which I have since had settled on Experian).

What I want to ask is...

a - Can I be sure of lenders who just use Experian?
b - If so, should I apply again, using one of these?
c - I saw somewhere someone talking about getting your available credit down to 50% before applying for a loan... If I could do this I wouldn't need a loan! haha. Is this actually necessary or will my score be what makes the decision?

Advice would be much appreciated, as I have been working really hard for about 4 years now to gradually build my score back up, live within my means etc etc but the interest on my credit card is so high that I just need to consolidate. I'm also spending a lots of money commuting via train and want to use the excess in my loan to get driving to cut costs.

Thanks

Comments

• Rossy.
    Rossy. Posts: 2,484 Forumite
    The score given by Experian is worthless and is not something you should guage when applying for a loan.