Anyone any experience of getting a car on PCP?

Options
Basically I'm in an IVA and can use the £4.2k car allowance (£215 per month after tax) that I will shortly qualify for from my employer to source myself a car. I'm not allowed to get a car on credit or save the £200 due to my IVA which leaves me either HP or PCP.

Any ideas? Anyone in a HP or PCP agreement with any experience to share would be greatly received.

Debt as at 12th July 2006 - £61,345 :eek: :eek: :eek:
Debt free 21st Oct 2011.

All thanks to :money:

Comments

• livinginhope
    Options
    Would you be able to take out HP or PCP with a bad credit history? although the finance is secured on the car I doubt they will lend to someone who has defaults etc,don't take my word for it,just thinking out loud.
    Debt at highest £102k :eek:
    Lightbulb moment march 2006
    Debt free october2017 :j
    Finally sleeping easy in my bed :A
  • shayshay
    Options
    I worked in the motor trade for 8 years until recently and both HP and PCP are on credit. Apart from going to some dodgy finance companies car credit with reasonable rates is not great if your history is bad.

Both require a deposit normally and if you only leave a small deposit on either monthly payments will be that bit higher incurring more interest. If you need any more info on either just shoot.
  • james32_uk
    james32_uk Posts: 1,223 Forumite
    Options
    Cheers! :)

I suppose what I want ot know is are the quotes being bandied about on websites realistic, or are they for people with super-high credit ratings? Also, what do they include in the price? Repairs? Tax? Insurance? If it doesnt include insurance does not actually owning your vehical affect your premiums?
    Debt free 21st Oct 2011.

• shayshay
    Options