Pension Advice

Options
I was wondering if anyone could offer me some advice. I, until last September, has spent two years working for my Local Authority and paying into their pension fund. I want to cash in this pension, they have advised that I would have to transfer it to do this. How would I go about transferring it to cash it in?

Many thanks

Comments

• zzzLazyDaisy
    zzzLazyDaisy Posts: 12,497 Forumite
    First Anniversary Combo Breaker
    Options
    How old are you?

You can't cash in a pension unless you have reached the retirement age specified by the pension provider. Even then, you can only cash the pension in if the pension and plus other pensions that you may have contributed to meet the trivial pensions criteria.
    I'm a retired employment solicitor. Hopefully some of my comments might be useful, but they are only my opinion and not intended as legal advice.
  • Thank you, I had no idea how everything works, I was lead to believe that I could cash it in when I finished working for the local authority.
  • pink_marshmallow
    Options
    i have a small personal pension worth about £2.000. i will be 60 in sept but not get my state pension until the following march. i have had a letter from my pension provider saying it will mature 1/12/2010 and giving lots of options about annuities which i don't want.
    my question is..... can i claim it all in cash instead?, if so how do i go about it?

kind regards
  • zzzLazyDaisy
    zzzLazyDaisy Posts: 12,497 Forumite
    First Anniversary Combo Breaker
    Options
    If you have no other pensions from any other employment then you can claim the pension as a cash lump sum. You should contact the pension scheme provider and tell them you wish to cash in the pension under the trivial pension rules.
    I'm a retired employment solicitor. Hopefully some of my comments might be useful, but they are only my opinion and not intended as legal advice.
  • molerat
    molerat Posts: 31,868 Forumite