New to this site and confused about tax rebates!

Options
Hi Everyone!
Sorry if I sound niaive but I am thinking that I may be due a tax rebate but have no idea where it should come from!
Basically I left my job in recruitment after 5 years with the same company on 31 December 2009. I declared myself self-emplyed as I am an Independent trader for hoenix cards (small earning so far) so I pay my grade 2 NI (not sure that is even relevent!) I started a part time job on 1st April which is only 8 - 12 hours per week.
I earned more in tax year 08/09 due to bonuses than I would have earned for the whole tax year 09/10.
I just have no idea how to go about getting what I am owed (if anything!)
Please help! :)
Sarah x

Comments

• BoGoF
    BoGoF Posts: 7,099 Forumite
    Name Dropper First Anniversary First Post
    Options
    Assuming your self employment started before 6 April 2010, you should have received a Self Assessment Tax Return for 2009/10 on which you will show your employed earnings to 31/12/09 and also declare your self employed earnings up to 5 April 2010. HMRC will then calculate the overall position.
  • Pinkel
    Options
    I did receive the self assessment details (I registered on line) But the bloke at HMRC told me as I was newly self employed I should leave the tax return to the end of this year??!!!
  • BoGoF
    Options
    When did your self employment start ?

If you want any repayment you may be due now then you are as well doing the Tax Return now. My suggestion would be to make your year end 5 April and do your income and expenses from date you started to 5 April.

It really depends on the level of any self employed profit as to what any rebate (if any) will be due.
  • Pinkel
    Options