PLEASE READ BEFORE POSTING

Hello Forumites! However well-intentioned, for the safety of other users we ask that you refrain from seeking or offering medical advice. This includes recommendations for medicines, procedures or over-the-counter remedies. Posts or threads found to be in breach of this rule will be removed.

Question about blueberries

Options
My blueberries are now turning dark purple which I presume means that they're ripe. However, we've picked one tonight and it's green inside. I guess that's not right, but how can I tell if they're ready for picking?

Comments

• peanutpie05
    peanutpie05 Posts: 258 Forumite
    Options
    Hi there, I'm not a blueberry expert ... but I do have a punnet in my fridge:) Whenever I've had blueberries they are pale (opaque) green on the inside ... so sounds like yours should be ok. Have you tried tasting it ... if it is very bitter then maybe its not ready but if it's sweet then should be ok.

HTH:)
  • conradmum
    conradmum Posts: 5,018 Forumite
    First Post First Anniversary Combo Breaker
    Options
    They're green inside even when they're ripe. When you cook them the insides turn purple. Just taste one. They're sweet when they're ripe. I've been growing blueberries for a few years. You have to wait until they're blue/purple all over. What variety have you got?
  • soba
    soba Posts: 2,166 Forumite
    Combo Breaker First Post
    Options
    Hi, really don't know about variety, I'll take a look later and see if the tag is still on the plant.
    Thanks for your help, it sounds like my berries are ready for the muffin tin!!
  • lolly5648
    lolly5648 Posts: 2,257 Forumite
    First Anniversary First Post
    Options
    I am interested in growing blueberries. Do you need two of them to cross pollinate/fertilise or whatevery the word is?

Also can they be grown on a pot on my patio

Thanks
  • thriftlady_2
    thriftlady_2 Posts: 9,128 Forumite
    Combo Breaker First Post I've been Money Tipped!