Catering for a 60th Birthday Party

Options
Any advice on how to cater for a 60th birthday party would be appreciated as I have never done anything like this before!

We have around 75 people coming to the party which comprises of 15 children (between six months and 9 years old) and 60 adults.

If I cater myself to save on costs I need to know how much food to allow per person and also other things I will need to take into consideration e.g. disposable plates, cutlery, platters for the food etc.

I don't know if I will save a lot of money by doing it this way as I have managed to find a caterer who will provide all the cutlery, plates serviettes and also dress the buffet table for £5.95 a head including dessert. If I went for this option, how many people would I order the buffet for?

I can get people to help me cater but will it be a lot of effort for not much in the way of saving on catering costs?

Thanks

Comments

• Quiet_Life
    Quiet_Life Posts: 2,498 Forumite
    First Anniversary Combo Breaker
    Options
    Check out this web site, although it's for weddings it has loads of info and tips for buffets
    In giving
    you are throwing a bridge
    across the chasm of your solitude.
    The Wisdom of the Sands. Antoine de Saint-Exupery
  • goldengirl39
    Options
    Hi Quiet Life

The website information wasn't attached to your post. Could you re-post it for me?

Thanks
  • kayl
    kayl Posts: 474 Forumite
    Options
    If you can visit a Costco, they have a great range of both sweet and savoury items which are great for a buffet
  • City_Girl_2
    City_Girl_2 Posts: 299 Forumite
    First Anniversary Combo Breaker
    Options
    Hi, I did a Surprise party for my parents 60th last year and I paid for a hot pot supper from a local bakery which worked out pretty cheap, around £1.50/1.75 per head, and delivered. I bought my own napkins, plates and beetroot etc... as this worked out much cheaper.