🗳️ ELECTION 2024: THE MSE LEADERS' DEBATE Got a burning question you want us to ask the party leaders ahead of the general election? Post them on our dedicated Forum board where you can see and upvote other users' questions, or submit your suggestions via this form. Please note that the Forum's rules on avoiding general political discussion still apply across all boards.

Are we classed as FTB?

Options
Wonder if anyone could help, have a few questions:

We have just sold our house and have decided to rent for at least the next 6 months. When we come to buy again would we be entitled to FTB deals?

Also, I am a teacher earning £21,700 plus an additional income of £4,200 for a part time job I do too. My husband earns £21,000 and we have 2 children. If we had a 5% deposit would it be possible to get a mortgage for £200,000? We have one loan that costs us £220 a month with Egg and that is it as we have just paid all other debts off with the money we made on our house.

Any advice would be great.

Comments

• Pal
    Pal Posts: 2,076 Forumite
    Options
    There are no such thing as FTB deals any more. All mortgage lenders off good deals to any new customers, and you would qualify for those.

£200,000 looks highly unlikely. The real question though is "If you got a mortgage for £200,000, would you be able to afford to pay it back if interest rates went up any more."

Repayment on £200k would be £1200 - £1300 (ish) a month. Can you afford that? What if it went up by another £100 a month?
  • Sarah_Jane_10
    Options
    Thanks Pal, we would need to seriously consider affordability etc...

How much do you think we would be able to borrow? We have a good credit history. Is there particular lenders who do deals for teachers?
  • cath-w
    cath-w Posts: 132 Forumite
    Options
    Try this mortgage calculator. Note it is only a very rough guide.

http://www.bbc.co.uk/homes/property/mortgagecalculator.shtml