NHS Pesion problems - need advice...

Options
Hi All,

I have a quick question here and probably a simple one for most to answer but unfortunately I have no knowledge what so ever about pensions.

My wife was employed at a local Primary Care Trust on a 6 month temporary contract. Upon receiving her first pay slip she noticed that a payment had been made to a pension fund - not knowing anything about this she spoke with her boss who confirmed that she had been automatically placed on the NHS pension scheme. She immediately called the finance department and requested that she be removed from the pension scheme - they informed her that it would take a couple of months for this to happen and then they would pay her back for the money that had been deducted from her salary. Her 6 month contract has now ended and she received a letter from the pension team saying that of the £250 they owe her she is only going to get back £120 for the year ending May 06 - then the letter states that after a deduction of TAX and admin fees she is only going to get back £80. I guess they will pay the remainder of the £250 next year.

To me this all sounds very suspect -

1. Can an employer automatically put you on a pension with out any agreement from the employee?

2. Why would they place a temp (with a 6 month contract) on a pension starting from the first day of work?

3. Can we contest the admin fee for them to make the refund of money taken without consent? (and because of the way the propose to pay the money back over 2 financial years - there will be 2 admin charges).

As I have said already I do not know much about things of financial nature but I would imagine that a pension would involve some sort of financial agreement which would need to be signed.

What I hope to do is get all the money owed paid back in one lump sum - with out an admin fee even if it means that we have to go to a small claims court or which ever legal process is necessary.

Any advice will be much appreciated.