CV Advice Please

Options
Hi,

I am currently writing my CV to apply for Web Design jobs. This is a job I studied for and have been in for the last two years but I'm now on the hunt for a new job.

One thing that has always bothered me is this:

A lot of Web Design jobs ask for knowledge of a programming language called PHP. I have a very basic understanding of this, I can write a bit and have always dabbled but would only class myself as 'beginner'. I am 'advanced' in other areas that are being asked for, just not PHP.

Should I put this on my CV? I wouldn't feel confident saying I know it but showing you have a minimal understanding is better than nothing, right?

How do I approach this?

Comments

• DVardysShadow
    Options
    Depends on the employer. Many companies find it difficult to assess software skills, so they look for experience instead. They also think that learning a computer language is difficult. It is not, certainly after the first one, and you can be very useful with just a few days experience of a language, provided you know what you want to do and how to go about it in a language independent way.

What languages do you have apart from PHP and HTML? I think you need to look beyond the languages - HTML does not really count as it is not executable. You should perhaps look to present your skills in terms of Client side scripting and Server side scripting. For the right company, some skill in these areas will go a long way to counteract any deficiency in a particular language.
    Hi, we’ve had to remove your signature. If you’re not sure why please read the forum rules or email the forum team if you’re still unsure - MSE ForumTeam
  • Noospheric
    Options
    I wouldn't class myself as a programmer.

During my studies I learnt Visual Basic, PHP, Java, Javascript and MySQL but none of which I really kept up with, however I could pick them up quickly. I dabble in PHP, MySQL and Javascript in my current job.