Bugbabes Debt Free Diary

Options
Hi all

Been posting now for about a week and have been really inspired by you all. I am so amazed that so many of you have become debt free and the lengths you have gone to to get there.

Im still taking baby steps so i thought i would post here every time i did something positive about clearing my debts, every time i have a slip up and just generally just try and keep myself motivated towards a debt free life.

I want to experience a debt free life too!!!

A little history!

39 years old, married with 3 children aged 15, 12 and 8. Both my OH and I work full time and I am also doing a degree. Im paying my debts every month but am always left with no spare money at all. We have no savings. The fact of the matter is we are both terrible with money and budgeting because we should have enough money left each month to save and not just pay the minimum amount on my cc :o

Debt

17k in personal loans. Will be paid in 4and a half years
2k owed to tax credits
1k on catalogues
2,500k on credit cards

Goal

pay off cc, catalogue and tax credits asap then sort out the loans

Baby steps!!!

Getting as much advice and reading as many post on here as possible to help and encourage me
Yesterday I gave my husband my 3 credit cards and he cut them up and we threw them away!!!:j Really pleased with myself!
Got an application form for a casual job. Only a couple of hours on a Sat morn but will give us an extra £120 per month to pay debts
Took some XBOX games back to Game Station that the boys dont play and got £28 for them towards Xmas
Turned the heating and water down, and constantly nag everyone to turn the lights off!!
Told the kids no more spending!!! They have to save their pocket money if they want anything

Not a bad start Going to do my shopping on-line for ASDA now and stick to £80 for the week as a starting point!
then im going ti look on Amazon to see how i go about selling the mountain of books we have at home