Tax Code "BR" - To Be Changed - Tax Refund

Options
I am now working for Currys, I used to work at a coffee store (no names). I left the coffee store and never recieved a P45.

I am now at Currys and have been since August, but I am on tax code "BR" and am being taxed, its quite a bit out of my monthly wage as I am a student and all the pennys count.

Anyway, I have rung the tax office and she said she has changed it etc..
So, I shouldnt have to pay no more tax.
I have paid about £200 in tax in the past few months, does this mean I will get this back on one of my next wages?

This happened when I left a job in the past and then started a new one, once I had the tax code changed, I got the tax back.

Comments

• chrisbur
    chrisbur Posts: 4,079 Forumite
    Name Dropper First Anniversary First Post
    Options
    I am now working for Currys, I used to work at a coffee store (no names). I left the coffee store and never recieved a P45.

I am now at Currys and have been since August, but I am on tax code "BR" and am being taxed, its quite a bit out of my monthly wage as I am a student and all the pennys count.

Anyway, I have rung the tax office and she said she has changed it etc..
    So, I shouldnt have to pay no more tax.
    I have paid about £200 in tax in the past few months, does this mean I will get this back on one of my next wages?

This happened when I left a job in the past and then started a new one, once I had the tax code changed, I got the tax back.

When your employer receives the new code it will be applied to your pay. Your tax will be recalculated and any difference between what your tax should be and what has been taken will be paid to you in that month's wage. No one can tell you what that figure will be without knowing your new tax code and full details of earnings (including taxable benefits if you had any), and tax paid.