Should I put my savings into my off set mortgage account?

Hi, I'm a newbie here, fabulous site!

Am thinking about putting my savings into my current account, as it will offset the mortgage, - this means that I lose the interest on my savings, but it means that I can pay the mortage off a year earlier. Has anyone done this? :rolleyes:

Comments

• silvercar
    silvercar Posts: 46,957 Ambassador
    Academoney Grad Name Dropper Photogenic First Anniversary
    The whole point of an offset mortgage is to allow you to offset your mortgage against the outstanding amount. Effectively your earning interest at the mortgage rate and gross.

Some people aim to have their savings build up to the same level as their mortgage, so effectively they have no mortgage but can access the money at will.
    I'm a Forum Ambassador on The Coronavirus Boards as well as the housing, mortgages and student money saving boards. I volunteer to help get your forum questions answered and keep the forum running smoothly. Forum Ambassadors are not moderators and don't read every post. If you spot an illegal or inappropriate post then please report it to forumteam@moneysavingexpert.com (it's not part of my role to deal with this). Any views are mine and not the official line of MoneySavingExpert.com.
  • Jays
    Jays Posts: 410 Forumite
    Depends where your savings are coming from, I think. We have an offset too, but we make sure our ISAs are used up each year before we add to our offset savings. Also depends on which sort of tax payer you are, makes more sense for a higher rate tax payer to do it.

Others with more knowledge about this will come along shortly to help.

Jays
  • TerryB_3
    TerryB_3 Posts: 23 Forumite
    Hi, I'm a newbie here, fabulous site!