Anyone else seen their pay rates slashed since the recession?

Options
I am a qualifed Solicitor (since 2001) and I worked for Local Authorities and Housing Associations as a locum (temp) worker.

I steadily worked my way up the pay scales (I trade as a limited company) and get work through agencies.

However, I have not worked for nearly twelve months and the positions that are being phoned through to me now are at the rates when I was a newly qualified! Less than half the hourly rate I was earning twelve months ago.

Yet a Surveyor I know who works through agencies has not had his pay rates slashed..... so why the legal profession?

There are a few jobs as Solicitors that I have come across on the employment websites are paying £1,500 per month BEFORE TAX!

I am coming across other jobs (in other areas of work) that are paying more but I seem to be pigeon-holed as a Solicitor so can't even get a foot in the door! These positions don't need you to have a degree either.

I am sure other professions have been hit but I feel like I wasted so many years of my life studying for a very difficult degree and qualifying which cost ALOT OF MONEY!! Student loans and a graduate loan which luckily I paid off a few years ago but now my savings are dwindling and this is SO disheartening! It took me three years for my degree, one year LPC (very expensive full-time course!) and then two years training contract on rubbish money and I had to run a car and pay my living expenses and loans!

I can't afford to pay for my Practising Certificate in October this year which costs around £1,000 !

Seems to me that alot of employers are taking advantage of this recession to slash payrates yet they are still making profits before slashing rates.

I am sure I am not the only person feeling totally disheartened with my chosen profession?
Thank you to all posters - you are fabulous!!! :beer:

Comments

• jazzyman01
    Options