job application advice

Options
hi there
i currently work for Social Services admin, I have a degree in Social Sciences, worked for advocacy, done voluntary work (mentoring) and worked in a library - saw a job with my local authority - my present employers and theres a job for a Social Work assistant. I'd love to apply for this job as once I get my finances sorted I want to go back and do the 2 year masters in Social Work - is there anyone who can give me an idea of what sort of things to say in application - i would ask people at work but i'm on annual leave. thanks

Comments

• lynzpower
    lynzpower Posts: 25,311 Forumite
    Combo Breaker First Post
    Options
    I have made this leap!

From SS admin to ASW :D Brilliant. Luckily my employer paid for me to do the OU dipsw on sponsorship too :j

Do you work in C&F, or Ad's. What do you od on daily basis, do you know about referrals, legislation, acts and which parts are most used. Do you ever do any assessment- what skills do you use? What knowledge do you have on local services & schemes? What do you know about anti-opprtessive practice? And alll that jazz!

Should be easy to bridge the gap, really ASW tends to attract those from admin who wanted to make the leap, most of the trainees on my OU course had come from admin background and wanted to develop thier skills.

Good luck!
    :beer: Well aint funny how its the little things in life that mean the most? Not where you live, the car you drive or the price tag on your clothes.
    Theres no dollar sign on piece of mind
    This Ive come to know...
    So if you agree have a drink with me, raise your glasses for a toast :beer:
  • rockyroad_2
    Options
    hi