Advice required RE starting a business

Options
msn
msn Posts: 20 Forumite
edited 20 August 2009 at 7:00PM in Employment, jobseeking & training
Hello All
Just joined (please be gentle), require a fair bit of advice regarding starting a business/being self employed.
Right bit of back ground, please bear with me, I'm an ICT engineer I've been working in IT for about 4 years mainly catering for business customers as support. I've always wanted to start up on my own (hasn't everyone), and quite frankly think I could do a good job on my own (hope I'm right). At the moment I'm employed and feel grateful - however I can't help but think that the earlier I get the wheels in motion the better plus if the recession hits hard if I have something reasonably established I feel it would be a good back up to slip into.

My first question is where to start? Do I register a company or register as self employed/ second job. or not tell anyone at all?
Business wise I'm thinking of starting small so it can run in the back ground, start a website and do jobs as they come (if at all) around my current job. Maybe sell products I'm not decided yet I might just keep it solely service/labour at the moment.

Second question, where does this stand me with my current employer? Technically I will be a competitor as I'm in IT, but IT's a broad field and I plan to do a few things the current employer doesn't and have no intention of taking work from under them or any other underhand dealings.