Help with a horrible situation please

Options
Hi,

I am new to this and really want to get my finances sorted but things keep getting in the way. I have looked at our finances and we have about £440 left to pay debts - so far so good. We owe council tax arrears so most/all this money should go to them. We owe several non-priority debts that we are struggling to pay/ignoring and hoping they will go away (silly I know).

The recent problems started when OH's pay dropped by about £2k a month as his work stopped all commissions. This has taken a lot to get used to.

Now he is under threat of redundancy, he will know in the next couple of weeks. If this happens I don't know what we will do as my pay won't cover all the outgoings.

On top of this our landlord is planning to sell, so we will need to save £1500 to £2000 to cover the move, deposits etc.

What can we do? I'm at my wits end.
Ebay challenge 2010 - £525
:idea:August 2009: Debt _pale_: [STRIKE]£55895.56[/STRIKE] £43069.65 - £12825.91 paid off so far (23%)
Council Tax Arrears Paid £6023.67/£6581.64 (92%) :j
2009 (5 months) £5753.53 paid / 2010 £7072.38 paid so far

Comments

• Tixy
    Tixy Posts: 31,455 Forumite
    Options
    Hi Myopicmoo and welcome

Can you post up a copy of your income & expenditure account (preferably using this link as it contains all the info we would need to know - http://www.makesenseofcards.com/soacalc.html)

We'll see if we can advise anywhere you can save any money, the best order to tackle your debts and where you may need to cut down.

Have you also checked you are getting any/all the benefits you are entitled to with your husbands reduced salary? (www.entitledto.com)
    A smile enriches those who receive without making poorer those who give
    or "It costs nowt to be nice"
  • MyopicMoo
    MyopicMoo Posts: 274 Forumite
    Options
    Hi Tixy,

Thanks for your reply.

I will work on the income and expenditure thing - although, obviously it might change dramatically.