I'm concerned my employer isn't paying my tax

Options
I've been working for a small business for 5 years, my employer gave me some pay slips for the first couple of months but then stopped. The only time I've had a p60 was when I applied and got a mortgage for my house.

Does anyone know of a way I can check that they are paying my tax out of my salary, preferably without getting them into trouble straight away if they are found not to be?

My salary is paid into my bank account monthly.

many thanks

Comments

• olias
    olias Posts: 3,588 Forumite
    Options
    Why wait over 4 years to chase this up?:confused:

Did your employer give any reason why the payslips stopped? Did you not think to ask him?

Did your initial payslips show the correct tax/NI outgoings? Did your monthly pay change when he stopped the payslips? When and how did your P60 arrive? Did you request it or did it come at the end of the tax year? Were the salary and tax deductions shown on it accurate?

Personally I would start by requesting a monthly payslip stating that you need it for your records and to keep track of your monthly income and tax outgoings etc. See what his reaction is to that first before taking the matter further.

Olias
  • Meepster
    Meepster Posts: 5,955 Forumite
    Options
    Call the tax office and ask them how much tax you have paid this year, as you think there could be a mistake and you are paying too much. Take it from there...
    If it looks like a duck, and quacks like a duck, we have at least to consider the possibility that we have a small aquatic bird of the family anatidae on our hands

• anyonu
    anyonu Posts: 8 Forumite
    Options
    In fairness it was probably my fault that they stopped. He asked if I needed them to be printed off every month and I said no for some reason. They appeared to have the correct figures on them when I did have them but I haven't had one since.