Overpaying v Investment

I'm fortunate enough to be only paying 1% interest, as I'm on a tracker. I know this won't last forever but I've been overpaying as much as I can for about 2 years or so and it's gone well.

Has anyone out there thought about diversifying into the stockmarket or other investments whilst rates are relatively low and have you had success?

I put £1000 into Barclays shares and they went up 10% in a couple of weeks (fallen back, now though!).

Replies

• dimbo61dimbo61 Forumite
    12.4K Posts
    Part of the Furniture 10,000 Posts Name Dropper Photogenic
    ✭✭✭✭✭
    Hope you are using your ISA allowance and the OH !
    Regular saver with HSBC and barclays also good way to save 8/6% before tax.
    so 2x£5100 a year into isa,s and 2X £3000 into RS,s should keep you busy.
  • PeelerfartPeelerfart Forumite
    2.2K Posts
    Part of the Furniture 1,000 Posts Combo Breaker
    ✭✭✭✭
    "so 2x£5100 a year into isa,s"

isnt it 3,600 'til next year ?
    Space available for rent
  • £3600 a year into a cash isa per person.
    Mortgage Start jun 2007 £88500 Outstanding Balance £51000
    Overpayments 2007 Nil 2008 £1040 2009 £7853 2010 £10000 2011 aiming for £18000 (6k so far)
    The Early Bird Gets the Worm, but the Second Mouse Gets the Cheese!!
  • JonbvnJonbvn Forumite
    5.6K Posts
    Part of the Furniture 1,000 Posts
    ✭✭✭✭
    £3600 a year into a cash isa per person.

Over 50's are allowed £5,100 from October, and everyone else from next April.

IMHO, investing in S&S as an alternative to overpaying the mortgage is too risky for us. We always fill our cash ISA's and pay into some regular savers, which we are certain are paying more than the mtg IR.

That is not to say S&S should be disregarded completely. Several big companies are well known for paying excellent dividends. Consider having a look at the high yield portfolio on The Fool.