Help Needed With Employers Timesheets

Options
3guk
3guk Posts: 9 Forumite
Hi Guys,

New to this site and employer law so please go easy on me, my company have started introducing lots of new measures, that can only be described as cost cutting and one of these was introduced a few months ago and has really got me annoyed, I'm wondering weather it is legal.

I'm an Engineer out in the Field and as a result every job requires travelling to, these are planned out on my calendar.

My employers have now started claiming a 1.5hours travel time rule, whereby they take 1.5hours a day off of our claimed hours with the reason being that each of the office employees take approx 45mins to get in to work, and 45 to get home.

Surely since my job is purely travelling they can not do this? It seems unfair that whilst I am doing my job (travelling to a site to do the job) that for 1.5hours each day I am effectively working for nothing.

Sorry for the long post, I'm new to this and wanted to be as descriptive as possible.

Cheers

Comments

• SomeBozo
    SomeBozo Posts: 1,195 Forumite
    Options
    Do you live 45 mins away from your own base?

How many hours do you work a day (inc and exc travel time?)
    the reason being that each of the office employees take approx 45mins to get in to work

Typically employees do not get paid for the travel time and expenses of getting to work.

Bozo
  • LinasPilibaitisisbatman
    Options
    It seems reasonable in theory
  • 3guk
    Options
    Surely the fact that I am a field service engineer negates this factor, I have to travel to each job, sometimes this can be 5 minutes down the road, and sometimes it can take 4 hours.

Since they do not have a Southern Office, I am assuming that my house constitutes as my place of work ? As a result leaving my house in the morning constitutes as a commencement of work ?
  • HelenYorkshire
    Options