VATman - adjourned petition TOMORROW (Monday) - JUST found out - help!

Options
Sorry, I am in a total panic!

I have tried to quickly read up on things but I am in such a flap I don't seem to be able to find the info I need.

I am a sole trader/proprietor. I had several VAT returns I didn't complete & the VAT man raised assessments (obviously grossly inflated). These have not been paid and he issued a Statutory Demand. The hearing was due in April. I phoned and explained I had sent all the figures in January. They said because of changes of office they had the letter from me & not the figures. They therefore said they would adjourn the hearing and await the figures.

With so many very complicated things happening in my life at the moment I have not resubmitted the figures - even now it would take me some hours, even a day, to find them because of the mess I am in. Bizarrely, with my family back to school tomorrow and with no work commitments for several days, I genuinely had made plans to get down to this first thing in the morning (Monday).

My wife and I are in the process of separation. Within the last few minutes out of the blue she asked about my High Court appearance tomorrow morning!

She says a "friend" had seen my name on the court-list! She wanted to know what's going on! I don't know!

I genuinely know nothing of this, but she referred me to the High Court website. Low and behold it has my name (and I assume it's me and not someone with the same slightly unusual name (and same initials)) down for "Adjourned Petition".

Since the phone call in April, when I was told it would be adjourned, but NO DATE WAS GIVEN, I have heard NOTHING from the VAT-man or any related body.