PhD Stipend + Tax Question...

Options
Hi,

I'm a PhD student and my annual stipend amounts to approximately 15k, the actual funding I should recieve is about 18k, but my supervisor has held back the extra money as a bonus - which I am now due to recieve.

I have also been doing some extra teaching work which will amount to around 1k by the end of this tax year.

Someone told me that if I earn over 18k total, I'll have to pay tax on the extra. Regardless of the fact that the 18k is a student stipend and that the 1k comes within the £6,475 personal allowance.

Would anyone know if this is true? I would be very grateful if someone could shed some light on this for me...

Thank you very much!

Comments

• surfcat
    surfcat Posts: 734 Forumite
    Options
    mjl01 wrote: »
    Hi,

I'm a PhD student and my annual stipend amounts to approximately 15k, the actual funding I should recieve is about 18k, but my supervisor has held back the extra money as a bonus - which I am now due to recieve.

I have also been doing some extra teaching work which will amount to around 1k by the end of this tax year.

Someone told me that if I earn over 18k total, I'll have to pay tax on the extra. Regardless of the fact that the 18k is a student stipend and that the 1k comes within the £6,475 personal allowance.

Would anyone know if this is true? I would be very grateful if someone could shed some light on this for me...

Thank you very much!

I'm not sure where the 18K figure comes from. As far as I know the phd stipend is completely tax free. The extra teaching / lab work etc only incurs tax if over the allowance, as you say.
  • jamtart6
    jamtart6 Posts: 8,302 Forumite
    Options
    Your stipend should be tax free and as surfcat says only pay tax on stuff over the £6475 limit for extra teaching.

Wish I had been paid that much!!

:ABeing Thrifty Gifty again this year:A

• tamlem
    tamlem Posts: 483 Forumite
    Options