Any Fools Guides To VAT

Options
dickieg
dickieg Posts: 725 Forumite
Im new to filling in a VAT form and wandered if anyone could point me in the right direction, ive got to submit Aprils by the end of May and am paniking, this will be the first one ive submited. Ive got the form basically ive got a franchise and on the invoice is what ive earned plus the VAT, i need to know which boxes to put what in ie is it the whole cost of an item ive bought or just the VAT paid, and do i need to send reciepts to back the said amounts up?.

Comments

• Raksha
    Raksha Posts: 4,570 Forumite
    First Post Combo Breaker First Anniversary
    Options
    HMRC talk you through it here: http://www.hmrc.gov.uk/vat/managing/returns-accounts/completing-returns.htm

IIRC they need to know how much VAT you've charged your clients, what is the total you've charged your clients (EXCLUDING VAT). What you've purchased (again, exluding the VAT element) (if you've bought or sold anything from any EU country these are dealt with seperatly on the same form). You then take the largest VAT figure from the smallest one, and that's how much you pay (or get refunded if you're lucky)

HTH
    Please forgive me if my comments seem abrupt or my questions have obvious answers, I have a mental health condition which affects my ability to see things as others might.
  • dickieg
    Options