Warning re Stakeholders/Personal Pension vs SIPPS

edited 30 November -1 at 1:00AM in Pensions, Annuities & Retirement Planning
195 replies 15.2K views
1141516171820»

Replies

• [Deleted User][Deleted User] Forumite
    0 Posts
    MoneySaving Newbie
    Don`t worry edinvestor. I am not trading my HYP. I am buying to hold. I have been buying in tranches to spread the risk. Once bought they go on the back burner and I forget about them. The true HYP concept is one that I absolutely believe in ie buy, hold, get income and enjoy life away from the screen. I am a bit pro-active at the moment because I have been making sure that I have spread the HYP throughout a range of sectors, with the emphasis on non-cyclical, low beta stocks and the present volatility is enabling me to buy good value for my sipp

I suppose that some of my excitement is coming out in my posts but I cannot believe my luck in finding this thread and hence my way into a HYP sipp.

Whiteflag, thank you for starting this valuable thread
  • EdInvestorEdInvestor
    15.7K Posts
    ✭✭✭✭✭
    Glad it's working out kittie. :)

It's not necessary to wait for bargains to set up an HYP , but I do it myself sometimes, especially for top quality HYP shares that are really good to have for diversification purposes ( eg Shell) but which usually don't offer a high yield. If you get the opportunity to buy these kinds of shares at a good yield (4% or more) because the market is down a bit,or there is some temporary setback to the company, I would go for it. I see Lloyds, always a top choice anyway, could be purchased at a 7% yield for a little while last week

Definitely a buying opportunity.
    Trying to keep it simple...;)
  • SledgeheadSledgehead Forumite
    131 Posts
    EdInvestor wrote: »
    Glad it's working out kittie. :)