Mortgage free by 40

Hi all im just starting out on the Journey to becoming mortgage free and have been really inspired by the diaries i've read on here especially setmefree's.

Im 26 years old and in 2006 I bought a house at the peak of the market with my ex fiance for 128,000 unfortunately we broke up because she couldnt settle in leeds (im from hull so it was a new start for both of us) and I couldnt settle in Wales where she was from so I bought her out of the house and took the mortgage on.

the house was revalued at £140,000 last July and because I didnt have 10% equity I paid £2000 to bring my mortgage down to £126,000 so it was a 90% mortgage.

A year on im fairly sure the property is worth about 132-134K which leave me with around 5% equity and a mortgage renewal next July - I am currently on a fixed rate of 5.65% paying £757.00 a month with Halifax and can overpay by 10% a year.

I had a lodger who was paying me £400 a month and I used this money to pay off my car which is now fully paid, the problem is im not sure how im going to overpay because after all my bills food and petrol has gone out im literally left with £100 a month, my work is very bonus orientated and sometimes I will get a bonus of £1000.00 a month or nothing!

My girlfriend is going to move in next summer and she will be contributing around £500.00 a month so I think I could use £400.00 of this a month to overpay has anyone got a link to a calculator that shows how quickly this would reduce it?

Any hint or tips would be greatly appreciated

Replies

• SmlSaveSmlSave Forumite
    4.9K Posts
    Part of the Furniture Combo Breaker
    ✭✭✭✭
    Welcome gravitas!

Posting an SOA is best thing I can advise you to do at first :o)
    Currently studying for a Diploma - wish me luck :)

Phase 1 - Emergency Fund - Complete :j
    Phase 2 - £20,000 Mortgage Fund - Underway
  • RosieTigerRosieTiger Forumite
    863 Posts
    There's a link to calculators thread at the top of the MFW section.