🗳️ ELECTION 2024: THE MSE LEADERS' DEBATE Got a burning question you want us to ask the party leaders ahead of the general election? Submit your suggestions via this form or post them on our dedicated Forum board where you can see and upvote other users' questions. Please note that the Forum's rules on avoiding general political discussion still apply across all boards.

self employed

Options
I'm currently a student. Started doing paid work for a media related company on a freelance basis in January 2008.

By April 2008 came I hadn't earned enough to go over the tax threshold so I didn't do anything about it.

Over the last year April 08 - April 09 I have earned enough to start paying Tax. I knew that I could then file my tax return any time after the begining of April 09 and have to pay the tax by January 2010.

When I went to register as self employed today (so I could get everything sorted for getting my tax return done as soon as possible) it informed me that if I didn't register as self employed within 3 months I would incur a £100 penalty.

I presume there is absoultly no way out of this? Is there even any point going to the tax office to argue my case (claiming that I didn't know, and that at no point did I not intend to not pay tax?).

Thanks ,
David

Comments

• Horace
    Horace Posts: 14,426 Forumite
    Options
    That is true you are liable for a penalty because you didnt register as self employed when you started into self-employment.

Even if you don't pay tax you still have to register your self-employed status because you will pay tax on your profits and there are your NI contributions to consider.

Unfortunately, pleading ignorance is not an excuse in law. Be thankful that they haven't stung you with a £1000 fine:eek:

I dont know if pleading your ignorance will help to be truthful.
  • *MF*
    *MF* Posts: 3,113 Forumite
    First Post First Anniversary Combo Breaker
    Options
    Hi ...