Can I pay off my mortgage?

Options
Thanks for the new board Martin. I would love peoples help in getting rid of my mortgage!

SOA

£132 per month Car Loan (£5044 outstanding 10% apr, cannot overpay)
£282 per month Mortgage (£39,804 over 23 years)

£65 per month Gas and Elec
£15 per month water
£30 per month Landline + Broadband
£10 per month mobile
£100 per month petrol
£66 car & house insurance (paid in lump sum)
£10 TV Licence (paid in lump sum)
£13 Car Tax (paid in lump sum)
£120 food + occasional treat

Mortgage deal ended last month, was £249. I only get paid £900 per month so at the moment I guess I really need to move it!

I am a student so worried I wouldnt be able to get credit to move the car loan or the mortgage?

Thanks

Gem

Comments

• peterg1965
    peterg1965 Posts: 2,158 Forumite
    Name Dropper First Anniversary First Post
    Options
    You have a very low mortgage so there a number of options you could consider. One which springs to mind is a long term fix with cashback. This may not be everyone's cup of tea and you will pay a higher interest rate but the cashback may help you pay of the car loan. Currently you pay £414 month mortgage + ca loan.

With such a low mortgage amount the slightly higher mortgage rate doesnt make a vast impact on monthly payment. The Scarborough BS do a 10 year fix at 6.99% which gives 11% cashback. 11% on a 40,000 mortgage almost pays off your car loan (£4400). An example is that a 40,000 mortgage over 20 years (cutting three years off your term) is £309/month or over 15 years (8 years off the term) is £359. Both examples mean that you are better of each month AND you pay your mortgage off earlier. The mortgage is fee assisted too!