Newly self employed - need help with my books!

Options
Hi everyone. Set up as self employed in january - I'm a piano teacher so I can't imagine my books will be too hard to keep but I've put it off until now, and I'm a bit confused. Ok my main expenditure is my car. I haven't been counting my mileage to be honest, and don't have many students so have been able to work out how many miles I've done using a route finder. I've seen that you can claim 40p a mile for your car expenditure. Is that right?
The other way I've been told is to put everything through - insurance, petrol, etc.. through the books and work out a percentage to deduct from your tax returns...

The first option looks simpler to be honest, but does that mean I can't put repairs and insurance etc.. through my books? Will I lose out this way?

Hope that made sense.

Thanks

Comments

• Ballymackeonan
    Options
    It's quite a complex area, will depend on a number of things - for instance, the value of your car, how high your insurance is. Keep a record of all mileage, both business and private, then you can work out a rough proportion of motor expenses against a mileage claim and see what is best.

You can also claim phone, stationery, advertising etc., costs of music, and possibly capital allowance on your piano.
  • Horace
    Horace Posts: 14,426 Forumite
    Options
    Why not contact the HMRC as they offer courses on how to fill in a self assessment form and included in that are details of what you can claim?

I keep a little notebook in my car where I note down the mileage used when travelling on business (thankfully my little car has two trip meters so I just set one of them to zero when I go out on business).