Making use of partners tax free allowance

Options
Other half is self employed as a sole trader, i don't work at home with children, however i do all the paperwork for the business, someone said that he could pay me a wage as the first 5k/6k? isn't taxable. Would i need to pay national insurance? do we need to let the tax office know? would i need to do an annual tax return for myself? does he need to actually transfer the money into an account in my name? do i make sense?

Comments

• Wookey
    Wookey Posts: 812 Forumite
    Options
    missm29 wrote: »
    Other half is self employed as a sole trader, i don't work at home with children, however i do all the paperwork for the business, someone said that he could pay me a wage as the first 5k/6k? isn't taxable. Would i need to pay national insurance? do we need to let the tax office know? would i need to do an annual tax return for myself? does he need to actually transfer the money into an account in my name? do i make sense?

You can certainly do the work at home for him as long as you are paid a rate commensurate with the time/work involved. There are some very small NI contibutions involved when you go over certain amounts and i'm sure someone will post those up shortly. It is a perfectly legit way of operating and you should look into it as it will effectively bring in 5k more into the house which is virtually tax free.
    Norn Iron Club member No 353
  • fengirl_2
    fengirl_2 Posts: 4,530 Forumite
    Options
    Anything under £97pw is free of NIC and tax. But, as previous poster has said, be very careful about this. The rate must be the going rate for the job and the hours must be reasonable. The money must actually be paid to you - either withdrawn in cash, or transferred by cheque. Don't attempt to make a retrospecive payment as this will indicate to HMRC that this is not proper employment. You would not need to inform HMRC if you were paid under the £97pw.