Question about borrowing money on the mortgage

Options
Hi,

I need to get hold of £10,000 for some home improvements & to pay off some other small debts, I quite like the idea of adding it to my mortgage and have been told by a colleague that adding about £10,000 would be about £20 a month on top of my existing payment...which I can easily budget for.

I have 19 years left of my repayment mortgage so is this a good way of borrowing some money to be paid back over a long time, also would the £10,000 be included in my current fixed rate of about 4% or could I get it at the latest lower interest rates?

Any help or advice would be appreciated.
Steve
Competition wins 2019...?

Comments

• grogdog
    grogdog Posts: 295 Forumite
    Options
    it wouldnt be added to your exisiting deal, and so that when that deal finishes you can move the entire amount you should borrow the extra money on the svr of your lender.
  • littlened
    littlened Posts: 146 Forumite
    Options
    I'm no expert, but also bare in mind that to borrow £10k on top of your mortgage you need to have sufficient equity in your property. Also be aware that borrowing £10k could essentially mean you're paying back £20k over the remainder of your mortgage, obviously this all depends on how long you have left on your mortgage and what deal you get.

I've a friend who needs 8k to pay something off, and he's going to put it on his mortgage. When I explained that he could be paying almost double back, he almost had a fit. It would 8k wasted, but you wouldn't notice it.
  • InMyDreams
    Options
    snowmaker wrote: »
    Hi,
    and have been told by a colleague that adding about £10,000 would be about £20 a month on top of my existing payment...which I can easily budget for.

Hate to burst your bubble, but I'm not sure where your colleague got his figures from. At £20/month, interest free, it would still take 500months (over 40 years) to pay it back. And that's without any interest at all.