What to do if I quit my job?

Options
Hi all,

Not sure if this is the right place to post this, sorry if it isn’t and I will move it. I am just looking for some advice, as I am currently unhappy at my current job in a large organisation and want to leave, however I do not know what to do, if I do leave. I am only sticking at the current job so far to keep money coming in for bills and debt.

A little bit about me I am a multimedia computing graduate, have good IT skills and enjoy sport. I have tried looking for another job, but can not find anything that is what I want to do. I don’t really want another office job (do not see the point moving from 1 office to another where it will probably be the same), I have looked into applying to the police force as the idea of working shifts and the work being different and varied interests me, (however I am not sure this is a good idea as I am Asian and think I may well regret this when I am working on the streets with some drunken idiots shouting abuse at me). I have also looked about on this forum for other people’s ideas and have tired match betting, you do make a nice bit of extra cash, however do not think you can do this to support yourself full time, as you have to keep the money in the bookies to continue.

Sorry to of waffled on a bit, back to what I was looking for advice on, how can I survive if I quit my job? Any ideas are welcome.

Comments

• The_Edible_Dormouse
    Options
    Hi,

It's miserable being stuck somewhere you hate. Would you be prepared to temp for a bit to keep the money coming in while you think about what you want to do and where you want to go next? It's a fairly good market at present, as companies are laying people off, then realising that actually the work still needs to be done...shop around some agencies just to test the water, and see what's out there.

Good luck!
    £5 a day in December £179.59/£155
    £100 on STP by 31 January 09 £2.03/£100
  • ThinkingOfLinking
    Options