Are you regretting that fixed rate?

Options
Hi. We took out a 5 year fixed rate at 6.2% a couple of months ago. I'm not a financial expert obviously but I was convinced rates were going to go up! Doh! I should say that our mortgage is not huge so at least that's small comfort. And we know what we're paying for the next 5 years, but it's still galling to think that we're wasting cash on interest when it could be coming off the capital. Anyone else in the same boat?

Comments

• epsilondraconis
    Options
    5.78% just over 1 year ago - just less than 2 years to go.

Look on the bright side - we could be dead.
  • Lokolo
    Lokolo Posts: 20,861 Forumite
    First Post First Anniversary
    Options
    I think you have to look at it from a perspective. I personally would choose a fixed rate, only because I then know how much I am going to paying each month for the next year or whatever. That way I can then budget.

However, if I don't know how much, for instance, now the tracker mortgage owners will have more money to spend - will they save that up and use it when IR's go back up? Doubtful (some might though!), and what happens if IRs went above your fixed rate? You would be the one laughing then!
  • Aaagh
    Aaagh Posts: 181 Forumite
    Options
    We had a fixed rate when everyone else had the really low rates over the last few years. But we knew exactly what we had to pay and could budget accordingly. You can't change it know, so my advice is try not to look at the interest rates and just go with it.
  • pfpf
    pfpf Posts: 4,955 Forumite
    Name Dropper First Post First Anniversary Combo Breaker
    Options
    Lokolo wrote: »
    now the tracker mortgage owners will have more money to spend - will they save that up and use it when IR's go back up? Doubtful (some might though!)

the sensible boring people will keep their monthly payments the same to effectively overpay.