Pay of Mortgage now or keep ISA's?

Options
Hi newbie here (so be gentle with me). We owe approx £8500 on our mortgage and expect to pay this off in about 18-24 months. I have an ISA worth about 5k and took out another for our daughter who is 7 as a long term investment. Her ISA is also worth about 5k. Should I cash in the ISA's pay off the mortgage and start new savings plans or just keep the current mortgage? Current mortgage is a Virgin 1 account job.
Thanks

Comments

• StrawberryJam_2
    Options
    Just compare your interest rates of ISA and Mortgage.
  • Trying_to_be_good
    Options
    If ISA interest rate is bigger than mortgage interest rate, keep the ISAs.

If ISA interest rate is less than mortgage rate, move to better paying ISAs or pay of mortgage if you don't want to use them for long term savings.

It's not legal to open ISAs for other people or for under 16s, so you'll be needing to remember it's yours/your partner's (whoever's name it's in), though you may want to gift your daughter the money when she's old enough - you won't be able to transfer it into her name, though, as the I in ISA is Individual (not transferrable). Sorry if that sounds patronising - not meant to be.
    Mortgage Free thanks to ill-health retirement
  • mcrterry
    Options
    Wow thats interesting about the ISA. I opened it for my daughter around the time she was born in her name with me as the kind of trustee I guess. I was lead to believe it was all above board. Thanks for the hint and the advice re interest on both acounts
  • StuartGMC
    StuartGMC Posts: 2,175 Forumite
    Options
    Only comment to add is that presumably you have some positive inflow to the balance in the One Account each month if I understand that the total capital you owe is £8.5k?