Payment of total pension fund for mum

Options
Hi everyone, I am a newbie moneysaver hoping to get some advice for my mum on her pension situation.

When she was in her early twenties she paid into three separate personal pension schemes with the Prudential (probably mis-sold at the time but that is another story!). She never had a high paid job, working with horses and in a restuarant kitchen respectively where a company scheme was not an option. She was advised by an accountant friend at the time to stop paying into the personal pension schemes as the amount she could pay in would never be enough to build her a realistic retirement income and would affect her receiving any state benefits at the time of her eventual retirement. I think this turned out to be very good advice. She therefore held the pensions over and they have been sitting with the Pru for about 35 years now. She is now 59 years old and therefore due to retire next year. She got a letter from Pru advising the total of her 3 funds is around £18,260.

I understand that if your total pension pot is £16,500 or under you can withdraw the whole value as a "minimal pension" and take 25% of it tax free but not have to take an annuity income from the remainder, which in any case the Pru have forecasted to be around only £344 per annum.

Is there any way she can get around this problem of the slight excess in her pension pot and "lose" some of her current pension value by way of transfer to another scheme so that she can take the whole £16,500 or is it not legal to do this? Her intention is to give the money to me to help go towards a deposit on my next home/mortgage. She will have no other income other than the state pension and any low-income benefits she is entitled to as she has not been able to work for the last few years due to ill-health.

Grateful for your advice!:o

Comments

• dunstonh
    dunstonh Posts: 116,387 Forumite
    Name Dropper First Anniversary First Post Combo Breaker
    Options