New Temp Job

Options
I have been temping for 3 years but actually only had two jobs. First lasted 6 months, second lasted 2 years and 4 months. In my most recent placement I was on a decent wage and then got paid holiday pay on top.

I now have a new job for less pay but I am desperate, this is also temping. I found out the pay is inclusive of holiday pay which actually reduces the basic pay. How do I work out the basic pay?

Also, they want me to commit for 3 months but do I have an option to leave if things dont work out and on what notice?

Thanks!

Comments

• fengirl_2
    fengirl_2 Posts: 4,530 Forumite
    Options
    To work out the basic, you need to know how many days holiday the post allows. Any contract must be capable to being terminated, so your contract should state the notice period on each side - surely they are not going to keep you for 3 mths if you are uselss in the job? In the absence of a written notice period, the statutory provisions apply, which would be a week's notice.
    £705,000 raised by client groups in the past 18 mths :beer:
  • lucy_w86
    lucy_w86 Posts: 827 Forumite
    Options
    fengirl wrote: »
    To work out the basic, you need to know how many days holiday the post allows. Any contract must be capable to being terminated, so your contract should state the notice period on each side - surely they are not going to keep you for 3 mths if you are uselss in the job? In the absence of a written notice period, the statutory provisions apply, which would be a week's notice.

Does the agency send a contract or the company I work for?
  • LittleVoice
    LittleVoice Posts: 8,974 Forumite
    Name Dropper First Post First Anniversary Combo Breaker
    Options
    Your contract is properly with the agency and they should provide written particulars.

It is no longer legal to include holiday pay in a rolled up sum. Holiday pay should be paid separately.
  • alyth
    alyth Posts: 2,671 Forumite
    Options