Is legal protection on car insurance a good idea for everyone?

Options
I'm about to renew my car insurance and am wordering whether to keep including the extra money for legal protection. I don't need a replacement car if mine is being repaired etc now that I'm retired. Do you take out legal protection insurance automatically or is it worth having?
" The greatest wealth is to live content with little."

Plato

Comments

• *MF*
    *MF* Posts: 3,113 Forumite
    First Post First Anniversary Combo Breaker
    Options
    Altho' a newbie here - I have already read a lot of posts which deal with "uninsured" losses when the damage or the injury has been cause by another driver - and that is where legal expenses plays its part - it helps you recover those costs or damages - with paid legal assistance in court (up to a limit) if it really proves necessary.

Only imho - it is well worth paying for - and is not usually that expensive and some insurers include it as part of the overall premium.
    If many little people, in many little places, do many little things,
    they can change the face of the world.

- African proverb -
  • Joey122
    Joey122 Posts: 455 Forumite
    First Anniversary Combo Breaker
    Options
    But dont you get this from a no win no fee solictor?

Why would you want this as well?
  • cajef
    cajef Posts: 6,266 Forumite
    Name Dropper Photogenic First Post First Anniversary
    Options
    Joey122 wrote: »
    But dont you get this from a no win no fee solictor?

If you win have you seen how much a solictor charges.:eek:
  • Joey122
    Options
    cajef wrote: »
    If you win have you seen how much a solictor charges.:eek:

Nothing at all :) Its no win no fee -

All legal fees are discussed outside of your settlment
  • cajef
    Options
    Nothing at all :) Its no win no fee -

All legal fees are discussed outside of your settlment