Main site > MoneySavingExpert.com Forums > Household & Travel > Energy > HUGE electricity meter reading (Page 1)

IMPORTANT! This is MoneySavingExpert's open forum - anyone can post

Please exercise caution & report any spam, illegal, offensive, racist, libellous post to forumteam@moneysavingexpert.com

  • Be nice to all MoneySavers
  • All the best tips go in the MoneySavingExpert weekly email

    Plus all the new guides, deals & loopholes

  • No spam/referral links
or Login with Facebook
HUGE electricity meter reading
Closed Thread
Views: 13,950
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
# 1
russ21282
Old 04-03-2008, 7:44 PM
MoneySaving Convert
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 88
Exclamation HUGE electricity meter reading

Hi all,

we moved house about 8 months ago and had a new meter put in by British gas. Since then they have estimated 2 readings, the first being around 700 and the second for February around 1800. This all seems fine as the bill was just over 100 for the quarter.

However, after looking at the meter, the reading is about 8000! This would cost us around 800 for the quarter.

In the old house we have had 5/6 people living in the house, in most the day, 4/5 comps on a lot of the day, 5/6 showers, dryer/washing machine/cooker being used a lot. our usage was 180 for the same quarter last year.

In the new house we have 4 people here don't have a dryer and showers are heated by gas, cooker is gas and there everybody is out most of the time at work.

British gas are putting in another meter for 4 weeks to see if the meter is inaccurate (it will cost us 50 if it turns out to be accurate)

If it is accurate what else could it be? this seams impossible for how much we actually use!
russ21282 is offline
Report Post
# 2
russ21282
Old 05-03-2008, 10:56 AM
MoneySaving Convert
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 88
Default

Anybody any ideas? If the meter is right the only things i can think of is somebody is stealing our electric or maybe something is draining it like a short in the house somewhere. Is this plausible?
russ21282 is offline
Report Post
# 3
ScoobyCanDo
Old 05-03-2008, 2:02 PM
MoneySaving Convert
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 91
Default

Don't panic .................... don't panic!


First off, take a Meter Reading each day, at the same time to see how much energy you are using in any given 24 hour period (I'm guessing we are talking about Electricity?).


Next work out WHAT appliances you are using during that 24 hour period (often where kids enter the equation - CHECK the immersion Heater is not being left SWITCHED ON .......... or any Electric Heaters, hidden in the depths of their 'SWAMP' ..... sorry, Bedrooms?) and try to calculate their kWh ratings, against the time they are in use and compare to your daily Meter Reading?


OR just pop in to your local Maplins Electronics Store and buy a Plug In Energy Monitor (1 should do) and use it on each appliance in turn to get an actual reading of use for that appliance.


Plug-In Mains Power and Energy Monitor


Go to :-


http://www.maplin.co.uk/Module.aspx?ModuleNo=38343&criteria=Energy%20Monit or&doy=5m3


They WHERE only 9.99, but have gone back up to 27.99 .......... or look on Ebay for a cheaper one.
-------------------------------------


If you think someone is nicking your power, wait until the evening and then switch the supply OFF ............... if you see your neighbours lights GO OUT .... you'll know??? :rolleyes:

If as you say, you mainly use GAS .............. then your Gas part of your bill should be a LOT higher than the Electric part? ........... and without all the info in front of us, it's a bit of a guess.
ScoobyCanDo is offline
Report Post
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to ScoobyCanDo For This Useful Post: Show me >>
# 4
russ21282
Old 13-03-2008, 12:12 PM
MoneySaving Convert
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 88
Default

Thanks for the reply scooby, yes it is electric i'm talking about and our gas bill was £200 for the quarter. I haven't been at the house to take readings each day but i have checked the meter again 2 weeks after speaking with british gas about the huge meter reading and it has increased by just over 200, now that would seem more reasonable compared to 700 for the same period!

Now what concerns me is they are going to put a second meter in and it will show our current meter is accurate and then we will be liable for the bill.

But i'm still 100% positive it can't be right as we haven't changed anything in the last 2 weeks.

I think its strange how its come down after speaking to them. A guy from british gas mentioned we might not have been moved over from the prepay tariff when we started paying by dd, but i can't see how this would make the reading high.

Any ideas?

Last edited by russ21282; 13-03-2008 at 12:15 PM.
russ21282 is offline
Report Post
# 5
Cardew
Old 13-03-2008, 2:10 PM
Deliciously Dedicated Diehard MoneySaving Devotee
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 23,011
Default

Going back to the beginning, are you sure that the 700 and 1800 on your bills are meter readings and not 700kWh and 1,800kWh consumed?

e.g. Is it possible that the meter was not at zero(not all are set to zero) when fitted 8 months ago and could have been reading, say, 4000? so the first estimate for 700kWh would have been a reading of 4700 and the second correspond to a meter reading of 5800?

Look at your bills carefully and they sometmes have a label on the meter saying "meter fitted on date xx/xx/xxxx meter reading yyyy
Cardew is offline
Report Post
The Following User Says Thank You to Cardew For This Useful Post: Show me >>
# 6
russ21282
Old 02-04-2008, 8:21 PM
MoneySaving Convert
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 88
Default

Thanks for the reply Cardew, the meter was installed and started at 0 or so it says on the tag thats attached to it.

I have called british gas and told them the actual meter reading and they sent a bill out for around £800 for the 1/4.

Needless to say i don't think i should be paying for this as it seems impossible to me. The woman from british gas even asked if i had a hot tub which might have been using a lot of electric!!

I've been taking meter readings for a month and on average we're using 150 a week now. I find this a little suspicious as it has gone right down since i told them about the issue.

Is there something they could have changed which has reduced the consumption? a chap i spoke to on the phone said something about still being on a prepay tariff, but i can't see how that would have an effect on the meter reading, we'd surely just have been charged at a higher rate.

Has anyone any ideas of what would be the best action to take next as there must be a mistake somewhere, but i think they will soon be pushing us for the money!
russ21282 is offline
Report Post
# 7
Terrylw1
Old 02-04-2008, 10:43 PM
Fantastically Fervent MoneySaving Super Fan
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Fight Club...laying into my boss!
Posts: 6,741
Default

Hi,

If you are sure the meter went in on 00000 (engineers sometimes fill them in wrong, so keep an open mind on that) then if you believe 150 units is way to high, you need to go down the meter accuracy route.

It sounds like they are fitting a "check" meter which will record alongside yours. This could prove that your meter is running faster than the tolerance guide i.e. speeding, as it's called.

It's very rare, but considering it's happened on a meter fitting it could mean the manufacturer set the speed incorrectly.

They can also do a Standard Load Test (SLT) which will prove this.

Whatever happens, don't get that meter reaplced until its sorted or you lose any proof if it's speeding.

Have you tried switching everything off to make sure the dials stop recording?

They can't send any messages to the meter to affect speed, they are not that advanced.
It's better to live 1 year as a tiger than a lifetime as a worm...but then, whoever heard of a wormskin rug!!!
Terrylw1 is offline
Report Post
The Following User Says Thank You to Terrylw1 For This Useful Post: Show me >>
# 8
SwanJon
Old 02-04-2008, 10:47 PM
Fantastically Fervent MoneySaving Super Fan
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 2,181
Default

There is nothing they can do to the meter from their call centre to reduce how much electricity you are using.
The only ways it would look like you were using more before and less now are
1) You are. Someone else in the house has really cut back without telling you!
2) the meter didn't go in at zero. Very difficult to prove. You could ask them to check if the meter had been in anywhere else before - give them the serial number and see what they can do.
SwanJon is offline
Report Post
The Following User Says Thank You to SwanJon For This Useful Post: Show me >>
# 9
whatatwit
Old 02-04-2008, 11:46 PM
Fantastically Fervent MoneySaving Super Fan
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Chaos Castle
Posts: 5,388
Default

Are you all adults sharing a house, maybe someone has had an electric heater running that you were not aware of?
Official DFW Nerd Club - Member no: 203.
whatatwit is offline
Report Post
The Following User Says Thank You to whatatwit For This Useful Post: Show me >>
# 10
russ21282
Old 17-04-2008, 3:17 PM
MoneySaving Convert
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 88
Default

They have installed a meter alongside ours today to see if it is speeding. I don't think there is a difference as of yet, which is bad news.

We never checked the reading when the meter was installed, so we just have the tag on there to refer to, which is 0000. We haven't told anyone else in the house and we have been a little more careful but excessively so.

150 a week seems reasonable to us as this is the sort of figure we were using this time last year, but there has been a massive difference in the last month that i have been checking, to the 8000 we have apparently used in the previous quarter.

What would be the best way to approach british gas to sort this out as i'm still 100% sure there is no possible way we could have used that amount in such a short time. for the past 5 years it has ranged from 20 to 50 a month, so 4 times the highest we have ever used can't be right.

thanks for replies so far!
russ21282 is offline
Report Post
# 11
russ21282
Old 17-04-2008, 3:33 PM
MoneySaving Convert
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 88
Default

After checking the tag attached to the wires again, the date on it is from 2002, so they haven't actually put a new tag on with the original reading for the current meter.
russ21282 is offline
Report Post
# 12
UtilityMan
Old 17-04-2008, 6:32 PM
MoneySaving Convert
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 69
Default

Hi

What are the first four digits of your meter serial number (don't print all of it we can find out where you live!)

If it is Z07E that means your meter was manufactured in 2007. Anything lower than that, would suggest it is a reconditioned meter and therefore would be more likely to have a higher than zero read.

Also, is it a digital (lcd) reading or dials? The dial meters are more likely to be reconditioned.
UtilityMan is offline
Report Post
The Following User Says Thank You to UtilityMan For This Useful Post: Show me >>
# 13
russ21282
Old 17-04-2008, 10:40 PM
MoneySaving Convert
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 88
Default

the first 4 digits are A07X and it is digital
russ21282 is offline
Report Post
# 14
SwanJon
Old 18-04-2008, 11:09 AM
Fantastically Fervent MoneySaving Super Fan
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 2,181
Default

That's a 2007 meter, so it's looking like it was new when it went in.
You could see if you can get hold of OnStream (your meter operator) to see if they have any records that might not have made it to BG.
They may not speak to you though, so be prepared.

Any reason why you havn't told anyone else in the house? I assume they are going to be helping out with the bills?
SwanJon is offline
Report Post
The Following User Says Thank You to SwanJon For This Useful Post: Show me >>
# 15
russ21282
Old 22-04-2008, 11:50 PM
MoneySaving Convert
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 88
Default

Thanks for the reply SwanJon, bad news i guess. we've not told anyone on the basis we wanted to make sure the readings were accurate, so not change anything and take the readings. So far we've been averaging 129 units a week since i informed BG, which is round about what we have been paying for the past 5 years, taking into account price increases, so there still seems to be something a miss.
russ21282 is offline
Report Post
# 16
Poosmate
Old 23-04-2008, 3:20 AM
Fantastically Fervent MoneySaving Super Fan
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 3,004
Default

Hi all.

This is very interesting! I was going to post a comment about my new electric meter fitted by British Gas - well it's more about my bill.

My new meter was fitted 23/01/08. I'm pretty sure it was at zero. A few days ago I received my latest electric bill. I was quite chuffed because my consumption has gone down and so my monthly payments are being reduced by 18. Yay!

Whoah! Stop right there! Noooo!!!!

I re-checked the bill (as it was estimated). The bill covers the electricity used for only 41 days of the 91 days of the last quarter!!!! NONE of the electricity used since the new meter was put in has been calculated or charged for, although they have put an estimate for the new meter of 392 (I think thats Khw). The actual reading is almost twice that.

I have sent them an email asking why this electric has not been included on my bill - I have yet to receive a reply.

From reading these posts I am guessing that they are having a bit of a problem with these new meters. If these meters are running fast, that's one thing but there surely is no reason why they couldn't do the sums and calculate the cost for me.

I am really worried now as I don't want to face a bill in June of 6 months especially if I am (from May) going to be underpaying them!!

I shall be reading my meter on a daily basis from now too. Thanks for that advice.

What I would say to anyone who has had a new meter fitted is to make sure that your electricity consumption since it's fitting has been included in your latest bill.

Hope you get it sorted.

Poo
Poosmate is offline
Report Post
# 17
Cardew
Old 23-04-2008, 11:11 AM
Deliciously Dedicated Diehard MoneySaving Devotee
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 23,011
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Poosmate View Post
Hi all.

This is very interesting! I was going to post a comment about my new electric meter fitted by British Gas - well it's more about my bill.

My new meter was fitted 23/01/08. I'm pretty sure it was at zero. A few days ago I received my latest electric bill. I was quite chuffed because my consumption has gone down and so my monthly payments are being reduced by 18. Yay!

Whoah! Stop right there! Noooo!!!!

I re-checked the bill (as it was estimated). The bill covers the electricity used for only 41 days of the 91 days of the last quarter!!!! NONE of the electricity used since the new meter was put in has been calculated or charged for, although they have put an estimate for the new meter of 392 (I think thats Khw). The actual reading is almost twice that.

I have sent them an email asking why this electric has not been included on my bill - I have yet to receive a reply.

From reading these posts I am guessing that they are having a bit of a problem with these new meters. If these meters are running fast, that's one thing but there surely is no reason why they couldn't do the sums and calculate the cost for me.

I am really worried now as I don't want to face a bill in June of 6 months especially if I am (from May) going to be underpaying them!!

I shall be reading my meter on a daily basis from now too. Thanks for that advice.

What I would say to anyone who has had a new meter fitted is to make sure that your electricity consumption since it's fitting has been included in your latest bill.

Hope you get it sorted.

Poo
Well if your reading is almost twice the estimated 392(it is kWh) you have been undercharged approx 40.

So if you don't spend the 18 by which they have reduced your DD you will be OK.

I don't think your "guess" that they have a problem with these meters 'running fast' has any foundation.
Cardew is offline
Report Post
# 18
Poosmate
Old 23-04-2008, 6:04 PM
Fantastically Fervent MoneySaving Super Fan
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 3,004
Default

Cardew, other people have posted that they feel these new meters are running fast - I myself have not tested their theories (yet).

The foundation of my guess are the posts on this thread and the fact that my estimated consumption of electric through the new meter has not been calculated or charged on my bill.

Why?

There could be another reason - maybe someone forgot to press the button that does the calculation? Maybe they have discovered a major flaw in their software whereby it can't calculate from one reading how much electric is used on Economy 7 so it can't differentiate the high and low rates? Who knows?

I just don't want to end up being in debit with them. I don't want to find that because of their incompetence my monthly payments will rise by 30 or more in the latter half of the year (coming up to Christmas).

Poo
Poosmate is offline
Report Post
# 19
UtilityMan
Old 23-04-2008, 6:24 PM
MoneySaving Convert
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 69
Default

Hi

ALL new meters are calibrated and tested prior to installation and that may be where the "speeding" lies.

If the previous meter was running slow, the new one will "appear" to be running fast.

My understanding of Poos invoice, would be a "final bill" on the old meter. Nothing sinister there, the next invoice should be from zero.

Last edited by UtilityMan; 23-04-2008 at 6:26 PM.
UtilityMan is offline
Report Post
# 20
Poosmate
Old 23-04-2008, 7:24 PM
Fantastically Fervent MoneySaving Super Fan
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 3,004
Default

Hi UtilityMan,

If that is right what you say about my bill being a "final bill" that is really scary!

There is nothing on the bill to say this and nothing about the lack of charges for the electric I have used since Jan 23rd. As my next bill is due in June that means they would be charging for 6 months worth of electricity and if you're not careful you could end up way out of control by that time.

It's a good job I re-checked my bill otherwise I'd be blissfully unaware of this timebomb.

I have received a reply from BG stating they have estimated my useage to March 12th as 00392 (day) and 0392 (night). They are asking me to submit a new reading but there is only 1 number to read now. Which section do I enter it into? The Day rate section or the Night rate section? I don't have a clue what tariff I'm on now. Their website for tariffs is worse than useless! All it shows is how much I can save by doing this or that! I tried to find their actuall prices but all I get is a table showing everyone elses prices but not theirs!

I'm getting scared and confused by it all now - and somewhat annoyed!

I need to do some research!

Thanks

Poo
Poosmate is offline
Report Post
Closed Thread

Bookmarks
 
 




Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

 Forum Jump  

Contact Us - MoneySavingExpert.com - Archive - Privacy Statement - Top

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

All times are GMT +1. The time now is 12:57 AM.

 Forum Jump  

Free MoneySaving Email

Top deals: Week of 22 October 2014

Get all this & more in MoneySavingExpert's weekly email full of guides, vouchers and Deals

GET THIS FREE WEEKLY EMAIL Full of deals, guides & it's spam free

Latest News & Blogs

Martin's Twitter Feed

profile

Cheap Travel Money

Find the best online rate for holiday cash with MSE's TravelMoneyMax.

Find the best online rate for your holiday cash with MoneySavingExpert's TravelMoneyMax.

TuneChecker Top Albums

  • ED SHEERANX (DELUXE EDITION)
  • STATUS QUOAQUOSTIC (STRIPPED BARE)
  • SAM SMITHIN THE LONELY HOUR (DELUXE EDITION)

MSE's Twitter Feed

profile
Always remember anyone can post on the MSE forums, so it can be very different from our opinion.
We use Skimlinks and other affiliated links in some of our boards, for some of our users.