Main site > MoneySavingExpert.com Forums > Work & Benefits > Boost Your Income > Becoming a private tutor- all questions here (Page 1)

IMPORTANT! This is MoneySavingExpert's open forum - anyone can post

Please exercise caution & report any spam, illegal, offensive, racist, libellous post to forumteam@moneysavingexpert.com

• Be nice to all MoneySavers
  • All the best tips go in the MoneySavingExpert weekly email

Plus all the new guides, deals & loopholes

• No spam/referral links
or Login with Facebook
Becoming a private tutor- all questions here
Views: 280,986
# 1
therivierakid
Old 17-10-2007, 12:32 PM
MoneySaving Stalwart

Default Becoming a private tutor- all questions here

I'd like to earn some extra income by doing some maths tutoring. I have a maths degree and a masters degree in another subject. I also helped my sister through her maths A-level.

Does anyone have any advice or recommendations as to what I should do, how much to charge, where to advertise, whether I should get any further training...

TIA

Last edited by Former MSE Natasha; 30-10-2007 at 7:16 PM.
Reply With Quote Report Post
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to therivierakid For This Useful Post: Show me >>
# 2
foreversomeday
Old 17-10-2007, 1:47 PM
Serious MoneySaving Fan

If you're planning on working with children it's always a good idea to get a CRB check done, which proves you have no convictions which might put a child at risk - unfortunately it doesn't seem that you can get one done yourself. Perhaps you could start off with an agency?

Ask at a local school for advice too!
I don't believe and I never did that two wrongs make a right
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to foreversomeday For This Useful Post: Show me >>
# 3
dmg24
Old 17-10-2007, 1:54 PM
Deliciously Dedicated Diehard MoneySaving Devotee

An agency would ask for some sort of teaching experience (though not necessarily a PGCE).