IMPORTANT: Please make sure your posts do not contain any personally identifiable information (both your own and that of others). When uploading images, please take care that you have redacted all personal information including QR codes, number plates and reference numbers.

transfer of liability

Options
Hello, I'm a newbie here so I apologise in advance if this enquiry has been posted before but if it has I can't find it.
I don't think my parking experience is in any way unique but here's the story so far.
Back in June I leant my car to a friend of a friend and he obviously incurred the wrath of Link Parking limited. The first I heard about it was a letter from said company informing me that I owed them £100.00 in parking charges. On the back of the letter was a form called Transfer Of Liability which, as I wasn't driving the vehicle at the time, I filled in and duly returned.
Next I received a letter from Gladstones Solicitors telling me I now owed £160. I wrote back to them informing them that I had filled in the Transfer Of Liability form and had sent it to Link Parking Limited. I gave them a copy of the form and the name and address of the driver once more. At this point I should point out that the driver was a British national working abroad and his address was in Thailand.
Gladstones wrote back saying that their clients had not received my completed form and they wanted evidence that the nominated driver was insured and a copy of his driving licence. I did not reply to this as I reasoned that if they needed this information they should obtain it from the driver.
I then received a communication from the County Court Business Centre asking me to fill in their forms which I did. The amount claimed by this time was £240.19
Subsequently I received what I believe is a standard Gladstones letter saying that they would like the case to be dealt with on the papers and that their client had elected not to mediate.