Equity Release and the Life-Time Mortgage

Options
Good Evening All!

If anyone wants any basic questions answered about releasing equity from their property or about the Life-Time Mortgages on offer on the market today, please let me know.

I work as a basic contact centre agent in a non-advisory role for a broker firm and can offer insight to how it works, the frequently answered questions, the benefits and the pitfalls.

Considering Financial Advice as a career and looking to use this website as a platform to build on my professional skills - but I also find this site very useful for my own needs :)

Ask Away! :j
Loyalty is a two-way street. If I'm asking for it from you, then you're getting it from me. - Harvey Specter

Comments

• suzannestaite
    Options
    Hi, I wonder if you can help me, my father in law wants to release equity on his house to pay off our mortgage. My question is, what happens if he needs to go into a care home, would the fact he has gifted so much money to us (130K) effect his rights to any benefits to help pay for his care home needs and is he actually able to do this given that I believe the gifting allowance is 3K yearly?
  • Silvertabby
    Silvertabby Posts: 9,061 Forumite
    First Anniversary Name Dropper Photogenic First Post
    Options
    Hi, I wonder if you can help me, my father in law wants to release equity on his house to pay off our mortgage. My question is, what happens if he needs to go into a care home, would the fact he has gifted so much money to us (130K) effect his rights to any benefits to help pay for his care home needs and is he actually able to do this given that I believe the gifting allowance is 3K yearly? Posted by suzannestaite

Gifting allowance limit relates to IHT, not deprivation of capital.

If the worse come to the worse the Local Authority may expect you to meet his care home fees out of the £130K given to you.