Microsoft Money investment transactions

Hi, I have been using MS Money for many years but have now hit a problem entering investment transactions. If I enter one, Money stops working. If I delete an existing transaction, I can enter one new one, but if I enter another one, Money stops working. I can enter other (e.g. bank) transactions without problems. It is as if there is a limit to the number of investment transactions but I don't think there is supposed to be such a limit. I am using the 2004 release. Any help very welcome.

Comments

• Terry98
    Terry98 Posts: 1,155 Forumite
    First Anniversary Combo Breaker First Post
    It might be worth asking your question on the Savings and Investments Forum as they answer quite a few questions about MS Money problems.

FWIW providing you have a good back up of your current data updating to the free 2005 UK version might be one option as discussed here http://forums.moneysavingexpert.com/showthread.php?t=5751623
  • Linton
    Linton Posts: 17,160 Forumite
    Name Dropper First Post First Anniversary Hung up my suit!
    What is the error message?

Money database corruptions do happen, fortunately very rarely. There is no known practical limit to the number of investment transactions - my data goes make 18 years with thousands of transactions.

Upgrading Money is probably worth doing anyway.

Some things to try - First make a backup copy of your .mny file in case something happens to the original one.
    1) Try the repair options under "File".
    2) Open money with another file (or no file) and then open the faulty one from inside money - this has fixed one problem for me.
    3) Have you made any other changes recently - eg new accounts? If so delete them.
    4) Have you tried a range of different types of transactions - can you narrow down the fault?

Once you have got it working take a back-up and continue taking backups every week/month/whenever re-entering the data would be too much effort.
  • Argyt