Transfering a maturing cah isa to Vanguard Life strategy

Some advice please. I'm a complete newbie to investing in S&S, so gently pls. I have exhausted all my options for cash in terms of high interest current accts, regular savers, ns&i etc and due to abysmal returns on offer for cash isas are ready to accept some moderate risk via a S&S isa in terms of growth,rather than income, over the next 10 years. I'm retired and living comfortably on my pensions. I'm thinking of transferring a soon to mature cash isa into Vanguard Lifestrategy 60 but am unsure how to actually do this. I'm aware options may include directly with Vanguard or perhaps Halifax share dealing and would prefer to limit the costs of such investment. The latter may be my better option as I do not intend to make many, if any further transactions this year. I guess I'm looking for the idiot's guide through the process of application and transfer without loss of the isa wrapper. Any advice is appreciated, thank you.

Comments

• ColdIron
    ColdIron Posts: 9,016 Forumite
    First Anniversary Name Dropper Photogenic First Post
    As regards the transfer process it's the same as a cash ISA transfer. Contact the new ISA provider and give them details of the old ISA and they will do the rest
  • LastbutFast
    LastbutFast Posts: 47 Forumite
    First Anniversary First Post
    Thanks. I thought that may be the case but couldn't see how to do that on the Halifax sharedealing website. Do I get that info from Halifax if I apply for the S&S isa option, do you know?
  • Linton
    Linton Posts: 17,135 Forumite
    Name Dropper First Post First Anniversary Hung up my suit!
    The info is on the Halifax web site - see here.
  • LastbutFast
    Thanks Linton. I must have had a little senior moment this morning to have missed that. I just think Halifax may be more economical for me regarding the circumstances I've described.
  • LastbutFast