Boyfriends job going in August

Options
Boyfriend has been told in August his nightshift job is no more. The company are taking nightshift off. They've been told they can re-apply for day shift jobs, but it's £400 a month we're going to be worse off and boyfriend is carer for his son who is severely disabled. We get step son every weekend as respite for step sons mum and after school ontop. Boyfriends work are now saying he can't be guaranteed no weekends. So not only is he loosing £400 he won't be able to be respbite. This is the only time boyfriend gets with son, and it's court ordered to those set days.
If boyfriend is having to reapply for job can he just not reapply because the hours aren't suitable and claim jsa? Or would he be penalised? Hopefully boyfriend will find a new job, but if not where do we stand?

We can't pay the bills on my wage, I work full time but because I work in a school I only get paid term time so don't even come out with 10k a year. Yet we've been told I'd have to pay full everything on my wage?!
Any advice/help would be great :(

Comments

• [Deleted User]
    Options
    So assuming you don't work weekends could you not look after the stepson while dads at work?. As you say he might not even have to work every weekend anyway?
  • Darksparkle
    Darksparkle Posts: 5,465 Forumite
    Options
    Can't he apply and state what hours he can/can't do? Or look for another job if it's not happening until august.
  • Lioness_Twinkletoes
    Lioness_Twinkletoes Posts: 1,573 Forumite
    edited 21 March 2017 at 7:56AM
    Options
    Your boyfriend needs to be careful with the job application - if he does not apply and then makes a claim for JSA they may sanction him for not applying. Further to this, despite his complicated home life, he will be expected to apply for anything suitable. He cannot pick and choose and therefore other jobs might also require weekend work.