Transfer or Withdraw my ISA? A few days! Eeek.

Options
ClassicClairey
ClassicClairey Posts: 6 Forumite
edited 2 April 2013 at 3:47PM in Savings & investments
Hi everyone!
I'm new at this, please be gentle! :o

Last April I took my first ever ISA with the Co-Op .. its a cash ISA. Being new and not knowing what the heck I was doing, I realised EVENTUALLY! that the % was awwwful.

I paid into to the limit £5640
When I realised how LITTLE it made me that year, I withdrew some of it.

Off the top of my head there is approx £3700 in there now.
There are a few days left to do something.. (if I have this right??) :o

I have been looking through Martins advice and am thinking if I am QUICK (as in go in to the bank and apply) .. I could Withdraw that money (from Co-op ISA)
and put £2500 (the min) into Martins recommended Santander 2.5% Easy Access ISA.

Then just leave that money there until next year. (when the % drops, and switch to something better) ...

I'm hoping to do that BEFORE the 5th April so its still in 2012 tax year. (would that work?)..

Just me withdrawing it from Co-Op ISA and paying it into a new Santander one?

Or would I HAVE to 'Transfer' (I dont think there is enough time to make it in the 2012 tax year)

Would that work?
Is it worth me doing?
Is there time?

That was my big question. :rotfl:

My little question is...

Another easy access ISA Martin mentioned was the Cheshire BS 2.3% AER.

IFF I did the Santander thing.. I could use the remaining £1200 to pay into a 2013 (after April 6th?) ISA.
(min £1000)

So I would have two ISA in 2 different years.. 2012 (santander?) and 2013 (Cheshire BS) ..

Would this work?
Have I understood this?
Again, do I HAVE to 'transfer' .. or can I just withdraw it? (I havent LOST anything by the looks of the rotten %)

do I have time?

SORRY!! for all the babble.. I'm desperately trying to 'Get it' :o:o

I really appreciate any replies. :)

Comments

• thumshie
    thumshie Posts: 631 Forumite
    Options