Too sick for JSA but refused ESA?

Options
I read recently about a woman with epilepsy who was refused JSA as she was considered unfit for work, owing to the number of fits she was experiencing each day. She was advised to apply for ESA, but was ruled fit for work, and lost her appeal.

My question is... what happens when someone is considered to be too sick to claim JSA but not sick enough for ESA?
I'm a retired employment solicitor. Hopefully some of my comments might be useful, but they are only my opinion and not intended as legal advice.

Comments

• merlin68
    merlin68 Posts: 2,405 Forumite
    Options
    income support i suppose.
  • zzzLazyDaisy
    zzzLazyDaisy Posts: 12,497 Forumite
    First Anniversary Combo Breaker
    Options
    I don't think it can be as simple as that, since you have to be in a strictly defined category to qualify for IS (child under 5, carer, etc).
    I'm a retired employment solicitor. Hopefully some of my comments might be useful, but they are only my opinion and not intended as legal advice.
  • Morlock
    Morlock Posts: 3,265 Forumite
    Options
    My question is... what happens when someone is considered to be too sick to claim JSA but not sick enough for ESA?

The fact that someone is not sick enough to claim ESA insinuates that they are fit enough to claim JSA. Whether or not that person then agrees to JSA conditionality is up to that person, if that person does not agree, then he/she gets nothing.
  • harry7075
    harry7075 Posts: 261 Forumite
    Options
    What happens? I'll tell you become a lost statistic. Not claiming anything so on no government figures.
  • zzzLazyDaisy
    zzzLazyDaisy Posts: 12,497 Forumite
    First Anniversary Combo Breaker
    Options
    Morlock wrote: »
    The fact that someone is not sick enough to claim ESA insinuates that they are fit enough to claim JSA. .